MDE@DeRun 2019

Second International Workshop on Model-Driven Engineering for Design-Runtime Interaction in Complex Systems

Co-located with STAF 2019 (Eindhoven, The Netherlands) – July, 2019

Call for papers

Complex systems are now predominant in several domains such as automotive, health-care, aerospace, industrial control and automation. Such systems calls for modern engineering practices such as Modeling/MDE to tackle advances in productivity and quality of these now Cyber-Physical Systems (CPSs).
However, the proposed solutions need to be further developed to scale up for real-life industrial projects and to provide significant benefits at execution time. To this intent, one of the major challenges is to work on achieving a more efficient integration between the design and runtime aspects of the concerned systems: The system behaviour at runtime has to be better matched with the original system design in order to be able to understand critical situations that may occur, as well as corresponding potential failures in design.  Methods and tools already exist (many of them not model-based) for monitoring system execution and performing measurements of runtime properties. However they do not usually allow a relevant integration with (and/or a traceability back to) design models. Such a feedback loop from runtime is highly relevant at design time, the most suitable level for system engineers to analyse and take impactful decisions accordingly.

Important Dates

Deadline for abstracts:
April 13, 2019
April 26, 2019

Deadline for submission:
April 20, 2019
May 3, 2019
May 20, 2019
May 29, 2019
June 10, 2019
Workshop date:


The objective of this workshop is to provide a venue where researchers and practitioners on model-driven/model-based techniques and architectures for complex systems can meet, disseminate and exchange ideas or challenges, identify current/future key issues and explore possible solutions. Possible topics include notably:

  • Model-based techniques, methods and tools allowing any interactions between design time and runtime (possibly resulting from heterogeneous engineering practices);
  • Model-based techniques, methods and tools for inferring design deviations and identifying affected elements over a (possibly large) spectrum of runtime system configurations or conditions;
  • Methods and techniques allowing to practically integrate, possibly in different ways, any feedback collected at runtime into design level models;
  • Integrated model-based methods and techniques for runtime analysis and design input collection, e.g. based on probes injection to some runtime artifacts;
  • V&V mechanisms for linking results of runtime analysis (e.g. from execution traces) with design models expressing system requirements (both functional and non-functional ones);
  • (Industrial) case studies, experience reports, literature reviews or visionary positions related to any of the previously mentioned topics.

Author instructions

Papers must be submitted in PDF format and strictly adhere to the LNCS proceedings format. We advocate two types of papers:

  • Research papers (maximum 10 pages);
  • Short papers (maximum 6 pages) describing experience reports, tool demonstrations or position papers.

Paper submissions will be made electronically via the workshop submission web page. All submissions must be original work, and must not have been previously published, nor be under consideration for publication, elsewhere.
At least one author of each accepted paper should register for the conference and participate in the workshop.

Paper evaluation process

All submissions will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee.

Workshop Proceedings



  • Hugo Bruneliere (IMT Atlantique & LS2N – CNRS)
  • Romina Eramo (University of L’Aquila)
  • Abel Gómez (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya)

For further information, please send us an email at

Program Committee

  • Alessandra Bagnato (Softeam)
  • Simona Bernardi (Universidad de Zaragoza)
  • Alessio Bucaioni (Malardalen University)
  • Jordi Cabot (ICREA – Universitat Oberta de Catalunya)
  • Federico Ciccozzi (Malardalen University)
  • Cristóbal Costa-Soria (ITI – Instituto Tecnologico de Informatica)
  • Martin Gogolla (University of Bremen)
  • Juergen Dingel (Queen’s School of Computing)
  • Davide Di Ruscio (University of L’Aquila)
  • Sebastien Gerard (CEA LIST)
  • Jesus Gorronogoitia Cruz (Atos Spain SA)
  • Frédéric Jouault (ERIS, ESEO-TECH)
  • Jose Merseguer (Universidad de Zaragoza))
  • Saad Mubeen (Malardalen University)
  • Gerson Sunye (University of Nantes & LS2N – CNRS)
  • Massimo Tisi (IMT Atlantique & LS2N – CNRS)
  • Andrey Sadovykh (Innopolis University)
  • Aitor Urbieta (IKERLAN)
Share This